Buddhist Vocabulary

Buddhist Vocabulary



A bodhisattva is someone who has committed themselves to courageously walk the spiritual path. They are motivated by bodhicitta (the aspiration to benefit beings) and guided by wisdom and compassion. A bodhisattva has vowed to undertake the spiritual path for the benefit of all beings. While putting the well being of others before themselves and engaging in acts of generosity, morality/ethics, patience, diligence, meditative concentration, and wisdom, a bodhisattva intently pursues the path of awakening. When they are at the gateway to liberation, they intentionally return to samsara to alleviate the suffering of beings and guide them to liberation.

Sanskrit: Bodhisattva

bodhi = awakened; intimate familiarity; enlightened essence

sattva = living, sentient being

bodhisattva = awakened being

Tibetan: jang chub sem pa (phonetics); byang chub sems dpa’ (Wylie transliteration)

jang chub is synonymous with the term buddhahood and it articulates 2 aspects of buddhahood:

  • jang (byang) = purified; purified of all that obscures our minds from clearly seeing the true nature of ourselves and all phenomena.
  • chub (chub) = perfected; that one has fully developed the perfect qualities of a buddha.

sem pa (sems dpa’) = heroic or courageous being

  • sem (sems) = “mind” or “heart”. The mind/heart is the foundation of awakening or buddhahood.
  • pa (dpa’) = brave, heroic, courageous

jang chub sem pa = Courageous being of enlightenment


Dharma vocabulary: Bodhicitta

Bodhicitta is central to the teachings of Mahayana Buddhism. Literally, it means the mind of awakening. It is the aspiration to awaken for the benefit of all beings. The key ingredient in cultivating and deepening bodhicitta is compassion. There are two types of bodhicitta: conventional/relative bodhicitta and ultimate bodhicitta. Conventional bodhicitta is the intention to awaken for all beings and engagement in meditative practices that make that possible. Ultimate bodhicitta is direct experience of the ultimate nature of all phenomena.

Sanskrit: bodhicitta

Tibetan: byang chub kyi sems (jang chub kyi sem)

bodhi = awakened; enlightened essence; intimate familiarity

citta = mind/heart; buddha-mind; pristine cognition

Meaning: The mind of awakening; the aspiration to awaken for the benefit of all beings

Bodhicitta is central to the teachings of Mahayana Buddhism. Bodhicitta is born from compassion.

There are 2 types of bodhicitta:

  • Conventional/Relative Bodhicitta: The intention to awaken for all beings, and engagement in meditative practices that make that possible
  • Ultimate Bodhicitta: Direct experience of the ultimate nature of all phenomena

Training in bodhicitta includes the following:

  • Meditating on the 4 Immeasurables (boundless lovingkindness, compassion, joy, and equanimity).
  • Stating one’s aspiration by taking the bodhisattva vow 3 times in the morning and 3 times at night.
  • Equalizing self and other: Recognizing that just as you wish for happiness, so do all beings wish for happiness.
  • Exchanging self and other: Taking in the suffering of others and offering them love and happiness in exchange
  • Considering others as more important than yourself.

There are 3 types of commitment/courage:

  1. King-like bodhicitta: Attaining awakening and then helping others to do the same
  2. Ferryman’s bodhicitta: Oneself and all beings attain awakening simultaneously
  3. Shepherd-like bodhicitta: Ensures that all beings attain awakening before oneself attains awakening


Buddhist Vocabulary: Dharma

Sanskrit: dharma
Pali: dhamma
Tibetan: Wylie transliteration: chos, phonetic: chö

The term dharma has multiple meanings. It is derived from the Sanskrit root dhri, which means “to hold” or “to maintain.”
The three basic definitions are 1) Teachings or Doctrines, 2) Phenomena, 3) Qualities

1. Teachings or Doctrines:
– Refers to all teachings or doctrines, whether they are Buddhist or not.
– In this sense, dharma is something which holds us from falling into suffering.
– In this definition there are 2 subcategories:

o Dharma of Scripture: a teaching that is read or heard
o Dharma of Realization: a teaching that has been integrated and subse-quently manifests in our experience

2. Phenomena:
– Anything that we experience
– From a Buddhist point of view, all that we experience is dependently exist-ent, meaning that what we perceive are appearances that depend on many conditions or constituent parts coming together. These constituent parts are phenomena or dharmas.

3. Qualities or Characteristics:
– Any quality or characteristic of an awakened being’s body, speech, or mind



Sangha literally means that which is struck together well. In common usage, it generally refers to a community. It has been adopted by multiple religions. In Buddhism, it is generally used to indicate a group of Buddhist practitioners. Sangha is also used to refer to specific categories of Buddhist practitioners: Enlightened beings, ordained practitioners, lay practitioners, or a combination of ordained and lay practitioners.

Complete Definition:
Pali: saṅgha
Sanskrit: saṃgha
Tibetan: phonetics: gendun; Wylie transliteration: dge ‘dun

The word sangha generally refers to a community. It has been adopted by Buddhists and is used to indicate a group of Buddhist practitioners. Within Buddhism it can be used to refer to different categories of Buddhist practitioners.

  1. Noble Sangha: In the context of the 3 Jewels (Buddha, Dharma, and Sangha), sangha refers to those who have achieved a high level of realization (having attained at least the first of the 10 levels of a bodhisattva) and have an unwavering commitment to benefit all sentient beings.
  2. It refers to the ordained community; ordained men, women, and non-binary. It was first used to identify the first 5 ordained disciples of Buddha Shakyamuni; the 5 who were present for the Buddha’s first teaching.
  3. In the West, it is commonly used to refer to a community of lay practitioners.
  4. Fourfold Sangha: Refers ordained and lay practitioners collectively.