Buddhist Vocabulary: Bodhisattva

A bodhisattva is someone who has committed themselves to courageously walk the spiritual path. They are motivated by bodhicitta (the aspiration to benefit beings) and guided by wisdom and compassion. A bodhisattva has vowed to undertake the spiritual path for the benefit of all beings. While putting the well being of others before themselves and engaging in acts of generosity, morality/ethics, patience, diligence, meditative concentration, [...]

Buddhist Vocabulary: Compassion

Compassion: the noble heart that feels the suffering of another being as if it were its own and wishes for all beings to be free of suffering and its causes. Word origins Tibetan: snying rje (Wylie), nying je (phonetics) Sanskrit & Pāli: karuṇā snying = king, majesty, sovereign, noble rje = heart, mind, courage The courageous, noble heart that, based on the recognition of the [...]

Buddhist Vocabulary: Empowerment

Empowerment: An initiation ritual that introduces one to a specific Vajrayana practice and allows them to engage in the practice. Word origins Sanskrit: abhiṣeka to anoint or consecrate Tibetan: wang kur (dbang bskur) to confer initiation/empowerment. wang (dbang): power, force kur (bskur): send, give, bestow In an empowerment, the vajra master transmits the realization of a particular practice to the initiate. This is not [...]

Karma: Empowering Compassionate Action

As our human family faces multiple challenges resulting from an accumulation of our past collective actions, it is a good time to reflect on how we might make our current actions contribute to a more wholesome direction in the future. As an extension of the series on the 12 Links of Interdependent Origination, we studied (in a past Sukhasiddhi Sundays series) the law of karma [...]

An Interview with Sukhasiddhi Board Member Gary Buck

What originally attracted you to Sukhasiddhi that led you to serving on the board? My own Buddhist practice began in the Theravaden tradition, then a stretch in Zen, and when I found my way to the Vajrayana it became my home in practice. I was involved with Lama Palden for a number of years in her Diamond Logos class, and have done a few retreats [...]